1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2001 Monster 600 Engine Reliability?

Discussion in 'Monster' started by Datum, Nov 26, 2018.

1. I have the opportunity to buy a Monster 600 at a great price, but the engine has 34,000 miles on it, and history is unknown. he said it recently had timing belt and spark plug service.

Owner says the motorcycle runs and rides normally, but I have not seen it in person yet.

Assuming the engine has been maintained, is 34k miles considered high for this motorcycle? I've owned Hondas and Kawasakis and its not uncommon for them to reach more than 50,000 miles, but I'm not experienced with Ducatis.

2. Bulletproof as a Ducati can be.

• Agree Agree x 3
  3. What he said. Great little engine. Stick new belts in and change the oil regularly and they tend to be pretty solid.

4. looks up ducati sporting club desmodue race series. Full of little 600's and have been for probably a decade now. Les than a handful gone pop AFAIK and they are on the stop for 90% of their life

• Like Like x 1
  5. I've had a 2001 600 Monster Dark for the last 15 years and it's done about 34k miles too. Fantastic bike, always done all the servicing myself as it is dead simple once you've done the belts and valve shims a few times.

Only failures have been 1 rectifier, but that was the original and lasted 12 years and recently the rubber stems on the indicators have gone brittle and snapped. Secondhand set for £30 on EvilBay, or £38 each if you want new!

Aside from that, it needs to be used regularly or else I find the routine is it failing to start, followed by pulling the plugs, cleaning them and trying again. Always starts after that, it seems to be that the fuel takes time to reach the horizontal carb after a lay up, by which time the vertical one floods.