1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

750ss Cafe Racer. First time project

Discussion in 'Builds & Projects' started by FlatLine, Mar 10, 2012.

1. Hello to all

Hope you are interested in this project.

It's the first one I have attempted

Bought a 92, J plate 750ss in late 2011 and been tinkering since

As it's my first project I want to keep everything fairly simple, no engine tuning apart from filter and such and the look will not be fancy

So here are some photos:

Just starting to strip the plastic off

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Spent the afternoon stripping the ducati to allow me to start work on the frame and wheels

Managed to get my daughter to help!

[​IMG]

Now all I have is a box of bits :wtf: Not much there

[​IMG]

The engine has been stripped of paint and sprayed

The next thing will be to change the cambelt

[​IMG]

Next: The powdercoaters

The frame just out of the oven and still warm

I have not done any grinding and cutting of the frame yet. The powdercoating costs £40 and I wanted to see what it would look like

I will cut it about and get it done again as it's cheap enough

[​IMG]

The swingarm as well though I am not sure if it will stay red!

[​IMG]

Just spent a couple of days putting the bike together to get a look at what it will look like

Started by getting the engine on the blocks and frame attached

[​IMG]

Attached to the scaffold bar that is fitted across the office/workshop

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Not sure if the upside down forks look strange.........hmmm

Maybe it's the gold that looks wrong

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Will be looking for a single 7" headlight soon so a bracket is in order

Will have to make a start on the wiring loom as well

Using a monster loom, don't know what to do with it but I am sure I can work it out!!

All the bolts and stuff have been cleaned up before deciding the colour to use

Held up by one strap

[​IMG]