1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

851 Or 888?

Discussion in '851 / 888' started by SoBritish, Nov 19, 2021.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm new to the Ducati world.
    I mainly own 2 stroke yamahas (TZR 125/250's).
    But I fell in love with the Ducati 888 in the early 1990's when a friend of mine bought a new 888 SP. The 888 has such beautiful lines and marvelous sound.
    As I cannot afford an 888 SP, I'm looking to buy a 851 or 888 strada, but I have a preference for the 888.
    I'll be grateful to receive any advice on buying such a bike.
    Most of the bike I see for sale have a high mileage. What is the expecting life of the engine (kilometers)?
    What are the weaknesses of the 888.
    If the bike has no or little service history, should I forget about it?
    What is the price of a big service (belts, valve tuning, water pump, etc ...).
    What is the price range of an 888 strada ?
    I'm based in Belgium.
    Thank you in advance for your help.

2. Buy on condition, get the best / most original you can with the most provenance, don't worry about whether it's an SP or a Strada or a biposto or a monoposto or an 851 or an 888. Lovely bikes, ride beautifully and unless you're going to be hanging 'em out on the ragged edge they will all deliver the noise and sensations as required.

They're the perfect moment between classic and modern, you get the evocation of a classic era with most of the convenience of a modern bike (ie it stops and starts well, goes around corners and will keep pace etc)

• Useful Useful x 1
  3. The 888 has been my dream bike too, so I know where you are coming from.

Steer clear of tracked and highly revved bikes (regularly over 10k RPM), as the early cases couldn't take the stress and cracked.