1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

899 899 Track Bike

Discussion in 'Panigale' started by carson, Nov 9, 2017.

1. Hi guys, just put a deposit down on a 899 ex trioptions bike for the track and was wondering if any of you run a 899 track bike and how it compares to the 1299?

I've been running a 2008 R1 on track for 3 years and I've never really 100% gelled with it. I bought the 1299S last year and after a while getting used to it, I love it. Was just wondering how the 899 compares with the 1299 and what you lot generally think of the 899 as a track bike.

2. 899 is prettier than the 1299.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Slower, easier to ride hard, more fun. Hear the race series has a few engine reliability issues, but that’s the 959 more than 899.

Enjoy :upyeah:

• Like Like x 1
  4. think alot of the 899 racers changed the rods as they were a weak point.

• Like Like x 1
  5. This bike has Carillo rods fitted

• Like Like x 3
  6. That's pretty much what I'm looking for to be fair.

• Like Like x 1
  7. 899’s are great track bikes. I was actually faster on my 899 than my 1299 because it’s easier to ride fast. The 1299 takes a rather large bag of talent as well as equally large testicles.

If you’ve got Carrillo rods you’re laughing, that was the main issue with the 899’s on track.

• Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. All sounds positive to me. Can wait for a go now

9. Jumped off my 1299S last year at Brno straight onto an ex-Tri options 899, and other than power it was pretty much the same in terms of handling.

It took a while to get used to having to pull the clutch in for the downshifts (amazing how soon you get used to clutchless up/down on the 1299) and the brakes weren't that hot on the 899 in comparison, but that could have been pads/fluid.

10. I know someone selling a very nice example if anyone is looking :)

11. Id love to build a trick track 899.:upyeah:

• Agree Agree x 1