1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

900 Monster Overhaul

Discussion in 'Monster' started by TeaBoyKev, Aug 28, 2020.

1. Good morning, so I am helping a mate out overhauling his '93 Monster 900. it's been sat a while and has furred up a bit!!!
    I'm not totally new to Ducatis as, 20 years ago, I worked as a bike mechanic but I'm a little out of the loop these days.
    I have stripped the bike and am looking for recommendations on good people to paint the frame, wheels and tank around the Manchester area.
    We also have the old snapped cylinder studs issue which I will investigate this weekend and, fingers crossed, there will be something left to get a grip on!! Are there recommendations on HD ones or should I just get genuine?
    We're gonna need to tart up the crankcases and engine cases too as they have suffered from the bike being stored somewhere damp.
    Also if you fine people have suggestions for the corroded nuts and bolts? Are the good replacements or is it worth sending them of to get replated.
    All advice welcome.
    Eeek it's alot to think about. I'll try and post some pics when I get my finger out.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Good Luck with restoration, i'm sure much help will be along soon. There's much to be consider so I won't even start but I see you are getting frame painted so take time to carefully study the cruciform area on both sides of frame for hairline fractures (as below) as now would be the time to repair. It's rare and more likely to occur if the two long engine fixings have been left loose for some time.

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Ahh. Will do. Nice one thank you.

4. Good luck with the Project. I’m partial to a ‘93 Monster Refurb so look forward to seeing lots of photo’s and updates.