1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1260 Bike Protection For Touring...

Discussion in 'Multistrada' started by pcn1, Feb 22, 2021.

1. I'm looking for advice off how I should protect the bike from accidental damage from a slow speed, or stationary drop.
    As I've mentioned in a previous post, I'm new to touring, and want to reach out into Europe over the next few years. I have European recovery in my insurance for worst case, i.e. a higher speed spill causing broken engine case etc, but that means end of holiday.
    If having some basic items on the bike allows protection from minor mishaps, allowing the holiday to continue without delay, then that's the way to go ?
    Obviously there will be Ducati dealers in Europe for running problems and parts if that solves the problem, but again its wasted time.

To me hand guard's to protect the levers etc seems logical, the Evotech guard set for the radiator's against a stone punctures (rare I suspect but it does happen?).
    Now crash bungs, engine guards, what's the opinion on these items ? I think they don't look nice, but maybe just bolt them on for the tour and take them off when home.
    Also if I drop the bike, the luggage cases are going to take a snack, but I don't think there's anything I can do about that ?

Any thoughts and suggestions from those that have toured appreciated. (should I carry spare gear lever ?)

Thanks

2. I have an 18 plate 1260 with 30K on the clock and several UK and European trips (those were the days!). I have Radiator guards for the oil cooler and main radiator are a good idea (Evotech are good).
    Barkbusters are best (IMO) for protecting the levers and the brake / clutch reservoirs in case of low speed
    drops, if they are protected then you can ride the bike to a garage if needed. Also useful for putting RAM mount on the BB bars for camera etc as needed.