1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1198 Broken Belt!

Discussion in '848 / 1098 / 1198' started by Richard R, Jun 5, 2018.

1. Was overtaking a car and changing up a gear when lost power, then noticed the oil light on, pulled up and noticed what looked like cotton on the engine... Then noticed threads coming out of the belt cover.... F#@king HELL.... Very disappointed as they were done at a maindealer in March 2017 750 miles ago....rang a few times asking for the service manager, and emailed him politely asking if they wanted to investigate and have a look since they havent been on that long, and that I work in the motor trade, and would like to know if this happened to a car one of my techs had worked on. ..... Still awaiting a reply (a week now).

• WTF WTF x 1
  2. Not good. Have you opened and had a look?

I'd check the tensioner has been rotated the correct way.

I'd be on the phone daily too.

• Agree Agree x 3
  3. As above, have you had the cover off for a look? If it broke, your bike would be in bits...maybe something has got in there, caused an obstruction and split the belt? Could be lucky escape.

4. "Oil light and loss of power" though o_O

5. Yeah good point. Any mechanical noise??? Finger crossed there wasn't.

6. You’ve been waiting a WEEK for a response ?!???!

Either your email has been over looked (benefit of the doubt) or this is the worst dealer behaviour I think I’ve ever heard of ... either way I’d be following up.

Let us know what happens. Best of luck.

• Agree Agree x 1