1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1199 Differences Between Base And S

Discussion in 'Panigale' started by MC750, Nov 18, 2020.

1. Bear with me - you might say "obvious - this guy hasn't done his research".
    Well, you're right, this is one of the very first places I've come for good info. Had Jap sports bikes for decades but never a Ducati.
    I'm interested in the 1199 (don't think I can quite stretch to the 12)
    So forks, shock, wheels, ok, got those........presumably the electronics are different without the suspension to operate?
    Were/are there any particular issues with the earlier bikes to look out for?
    Anything else that I should know about?
    Thanks in anticipation. I promise to repay the forum when I'm an expert :D

2. The base model are good value for money though forks can give problems but fit a cartridge kit and a ttx on the rear your have better suspension than an S anyway. Also though the wheels are lighter on the S my personal opinion is they look shite so fit after market like oz or dymag your have your perfect bike.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Have you thought about an 1198? Or if you can stretch, a 1299? I just think Ducati lost the plot a bit with the 1199 oversquare engine configuration. Torque and power a bit dull low down. Look at some dyno chart comparisons and you'll get my drift.

• Like Like x 1
  4. I have a base with ohlins upgrade forks, ttx shock and S wheels as a track bike. Not ridden it properly yet but as @Mary Hinge says the standard power curve is interesting. This can be largely corrected with mapping but as a road bike I reckon a 1299 would be better.
    received_627107717860019.jpeg

5. Blimey - you wouldn't think that was the same motor! And this was just from mapping work?

6. The green and pink were same engine, the other one is blue printed from memory

• Like Like x 1
  7. So still no progress on this.