1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Driving Assessment

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by PerryL, Jul 21, 2021.

1. I had the phone call this morning. Apparently, the DVLA have me down as a brain-damaged idiot who shouldn't be on the road. The call was to judge my level of infirmity and judgement. When I told her that I live on my own and cycle and walk (when it is not this hot) everyday, the response was, "hat time do your carers arrive?" but I managed to keep my temper - maybe that was the test?

I said that I will be getting an automatic whenever I get my license back and so I would be happy to do the assessment in an auto. I was told that if I needed an automatic, then that would be all that my license would allow, if I passed. I resisted the urge to scream, "GET WITH THE F*CKING PROGRAM! It's 2021 and I have been driving manuals for over forty years! You don't just forget how to! it's called CHOICE and last time I looked, we do not live in a communist state!" So, what will be the gig when it is only electric cars? Pass your test in one and you can't drive ANY petrol car, let alone one with gears!

As usual, the word "motorbike" was never mentioned.

If it wasn't for the fact that my accident compensation amount is influenced by this, then I would tell the lot of them to go feck themselves!

Time to see if my solicitor is still alive....

• Love You Love You x 1
  2. Well done at keeping your cool P
    Hang on in there :)

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. for gods sake don't tell them you post here if you are aiming to validate anything positive.... :p

If you pass auto, you can only drive auto. Which seems sensible to me: auto is far easier to drive than manual, especially for a new driver. But the good news: you can even drive electric auto after ;)