1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dubcat Does Picos (2019)

Discussion in 'Touring' started by dubcat, Jun 9, 2019.

1. Prologue
    I'm new at motorbiking, relatively speaking (hence the torrent of questions - apologies). I'm going to the Picos mountains on my new (to me) Monster R. It's my first holiday without my family and my first time going away on a bike! I'm feeling a little bewildered.

I'm going with about 20 other people. One of them is an ex-colleague turned friend and the rest are friends and acquaintances of his. I have met a handful of them but the majority are strangers to me. They've all been riding bikes for many years and are old hands at touring.

Itinerary:
    • Ride to Portsmouth after work
    • Catch the overnight ferry to Mont St Michel
    • About 450-500km stopping at Angoulême for the night
    • About 650-700km to Llanes in Spain where we will be based for a few days
    • Return via Pont-Aven ferry a week later
    Luggage:
    • SW Motech Blaze panniers (expanded to 42l)
    • SW Motech tank bag (5l)
    • Kriega bum bag.
    The bags hold much more than I expected. I filled the bags to the max as I didn't see the point of leaving them only half filled. I even managed to get a couple of days worth of running gear in there. I think I could do a much longer trip with this loadout by washing clothes in the sink etc.

The 'Dry' Run
    I did an extended test ride, with the bike fully loaded, today. It rained. It rained a lot. My over trousers worked brilliantly but I need to get them on sooner after it starts raining. A soggy crotch in denim jeans isn't the best. I also learned that when I'm cold on the bike I get miserable and feel really low. Amazing how much it can affect your mood! As soon as I put a fleece on I cheered right up and had a great time again.