1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

999 Error 19.2

Discussion in '749 / 999' started by 916CornerSpeed, Apr 10, 2019.

1. Hello,

I recently purchased a non running 999 project. Before I commit to the project I want to prove that it runs. Despite following a lot of good advice I've read on the forums I still haven't managed to solve the problem. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to working on these bikes

The previous owner had tried to resolve the issue, even removing the old alarm, but in the end gave up decided to sell. It's a high mileage bike with a lot of corrosion.

What I've tried so far:

Checked the fuses
    Disconnected bits on the same circuit - rear light, horn, kickstand
    Replaced both relays (headlight unit and fuel pump)
    Replaced Starter relay/Solenoid with genuine new part
    Removed lower harness and checked connectors/wires - there was a fair amount of corrosion which I cleaned.
    Cleaned and re-soldered the diode connector for the start relay
    Changed the regulator
    Used a fair amount of contact cleaner

There was an intermittent 16 error which I managed to solve by cleaning the connectors in the pump relay block, as well as replacing the relay.

I popped into a reputable ducati dealership earlier this week and had a brief chat with a technician regarding the error and a potential ECU issue. I was told it was highly unlikely the cause of a 19.2 error - they said they would have to see the bike.

I'm starting to think its an issue with the ECU - the previous owner may have attempted jumping it from a heavy duty battery pack, which I've read can damage the ECU.

The ECU has an old sticker on it from ECUClinic.com - Not sure if it's relevant but thought I'd mention it.

Should I consider replacing the ECU?

Many thanks