1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Evan Waterless Coolant

Discussion in 'Clothing, Gadgets & Equipment' started by Boukekoppejan, Aug 20, 2020.

1. Hi!

what do you think of this coolant from Evans? I bought it for my duc witch have some minor coolant issues. So curious if this wil helps a bit

6CA604B0-DB9F-431A-AAE4-68F953FE551C.jpeg

2. I have read mixed reviews on this, and as an engineer I have decided against using it.
    Stick to the manufacturer recommended coolant, if you have minor issues I would look at the coolant system rather than what is in it.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love You Love You x 1
  3. Specific Heat.

Specific heat capacity of Evans waterless products ranges from 0.64 to 0.68, or about half that of water.

• Like Like x 1
  4. i also looked at this in a bit of detail, and also went with Motul Mocool organic in the end, if the bike is oveheating, like a 1199 for example, then i would improved the cooling system before relying on just a change of medium, as the issue will still be there.. but possibly hidden

• Like Like x 2
  5. Waterless coolants are crap. They have higher boiling point but transfer less heat than water. Actually water with a corrosion inhibitor is the best coolant but doesn't offer any frost protection. Have a look at Silkolene pro CCA if this is something that might interest you. 2 percent of that with tap water is what we used in Formula 1.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Love You Love You x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Also an engineer who has looked into this stuff and discounted it. If it was any good then manufacturers would use it. The best thing for heat transfer is H2O.
    In the end it is your bike and you should use what you want, but I don't know what you are trying to gain.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love You Love You x 1