1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Ducati On It's Way

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by chrisb1299, Jun 5, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Hi all,

Still kind of pinching myself but yesterday I paid the holding deposit on a 1299 that I collect next Friday. Kind of all been a bit of a fast-paced decision in the end but sure one that I won't regret.

I've been riding since the end of 2014 and had an SV650s as my first bike so I've had a twin before albeit half the size and then ridden a GSX-R750 for the last three years. Just decided that it was time to move on to something different so and had always thought the 959 would be the bike I'd go to but the test ride left me wanting more, it just didn't feel like the step up in delivery that I'd hoped for over my 750, hence where the 1299 comes in.

One came up at a new dealer in Swindon that's higher mileage than others at 16k but it's had two owners, six Ducati stamps and two desmo services and for the price, it just made so much sense to me. Part of me kind of likes the idea of having a less pristine garage queen as when the inevitable little things happen it won't bother me as much. There are some stone chips on the front fairing but very minor so will be easy to touch up and then I'm thinking PPF.

Didn't get to ride the bike far as the dealer is still waiting on their trade plates from DVLA as they only opened two days before lockdown! But in the short trip around the industrial estate it was clear that the power increase is going to be MORE than enough!

Going to do some lurking around and reading of threads to learn more about the bikes but any suggestions of PPF and tank grips would be much appreciated.

I only have the dealer pics for now but will update with more next Friday!

1.jpg

• Like Like x 12
  2. Very nice!!:upyeah:

3. Welcome to the Forum Chris :upyeah: and welcome to the Ducati world:)

4. Welcome looks very nice, enjoy.