1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frame Re-finish So It's Got To Come Off

Discussion in 'Streetfighter' started by Eeza, Oct 4, 2018.

1. Hello everyone, I'm a noob to Ducati bikes so be gentle with me.

I bought my 1098 SFS in August and just cleaned it up to be honest, it needs a belt change and so not wanting to start the thing up and risk a nightmare it's sat in my garage since then.

I bought this from my late brother in law Steve who purchased it new from Ducati Manchester.

He lived in Blackpool with his wife and my best guess is he took the bike out for one last ride a few years ago and fully intended to wash it but never got the chance and so a few years later the bike frame has suffered and needs to be refinshied.

I dont want to get into a Paint over Powder debate as I know what I am going to do.

I guess my question is has anyone done this before ? Looking at the manual this requires a total strip of everything but looking at the bike I may be able to get this done without taking everything apart.

Will i need any special tools for the frame removal beyond the obvious Stem tool and socket for the wheels etc....

There's no or very little fuel in the tank so it still looks great and the bike has done only 1200 yes 1200 miles.........

I know what this bike meant to Steve and so this journey is going to be one I will enjoy.

I will document and take pictures of everything I can and I hope you guys will enjoy the journey

I'm gathering my bits together and will make a start next week

Here she is in the Flesh

IMAG0582.jpg

Wish me luck

#1 Eeza, Oct 4, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
    • Like Like x 7
  2. Nice that you are undertaking this following the loss of your brother in law.