1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freaked Out By A Death Story

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Phill748, May 28, 2020.

1. I was watching First Dates the other night of all programs, and a lady on their described how her husband was killed on his bike. Now, I don't for a second think it doesn't go on, and I know the risks. What got to me was that my girlfriend was quite affected and gripped me really tight while this woman said it.

My GF has a 3yr old which I've taken on, and all of a sudden I realised there was other stuff at play around riding the bike. It got under my skin a little bit and wondered if anyone else has these moments and how you deal with it?

I'm quite an analytical person, I've been riding circa 5-6k miles a year for the last 20 years in July and I've been fortunate to have only had 3-4 close moments, but as I get older and now having a little person living under my roof, it's definitely something that affected me.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Love You Love You x 1
  2. I have been through a similar thought process years ago, when my children were young.
    So pleased I did not give up motorcycles altogether, so many other ways to die. Falling off ladders (I spent a lot of time working from them..), coronavirus etc.
    Take stock, dont take unnecessary risks, live your life, keep biking.

• Agree Agree x 10
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Having kids, your own or others that you adopt, does that to your head. Mine are now almost adults, I've divorced from their mum. I used to go out on rides and continental tours thinking I might not come back from this, less so now as my responsibilities are diminished. Those thoughts didn't stop me going and I had the marginally begrudged blessing from my then wife. Some riders give up biking for the duration of child rearing, I grimly hung on to the bike and was glad I did.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 2