1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Iom Tt Advice Please

Discussion in 'Touring' started by davenwalk, Nov 20, 2017.

1. Hi

My brother is planning on coming over from Australia for the IOM TT next year for his 40th Birthday.

We are complete newbies to this, so need to ask a bunch of questions:

1 - Is it too late to organise - are ferries etc all sold out already?
    2 - What are the best dates to go for 2/3/4 days for an all round experience to soak up as much as possible.
    3 - Assuming we can drive and catch a ferry, advice on camp grounds (this would be preference)
    4 - Assuming we have to fly, advice on BnB's etc would be fantastic.
    5 - Which tickets to buy, are there grandstands, or where best to soak up the vibe and view the action?

Don't need every detail organised, and happy to wing things a bit - just need to lock down the major transport and accomodation issues before my brothers book their air tickets from Oz...

Above would be for 4 brothers, and maybe a wife or two depending on who's keen.

Sorry such newbie questions.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Thanks,
    Dave

2. 1 - Is it too late to organise - are ferries etc all sold out already?
    Possibly - they do go very quickly (you can fly to the island (change at London/or possibly Dublin?)
    2 - What are the best dates to go for 2/3/4 days for an all round experience to soak up as much as possible.
    I suspect the answer will depend on availability and what you want to do - don't forget if the weather turns, the timetable goes out of the window. Races are usually Sat/Mon/Wed/Fri - Monday and Friday are usually the bi races (the 6-lap superbike and senior TT), the other days you tend to get more races (sidecars on Sat and Mon I think, if you like that sort of thing). There's the Pre-TT classics on the southern 100. Can't remember the dates for them