1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lithium Battery???

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by tboooe, Jan 3, 2020.

1. EDIT...oh dear seems my searching capabilities need serious improvement. Apologies for the repeat question. I should be verbally flogged.

Just wanted to get people's thoughts on changing to a lithium battery. Aside from the massive weight savings (which frankly wont mean anything to a rider of my limited capabilities), lithium batteries offer much more CCA to make starting V twins easier. Even with a fully charged fresh lead acid battery, my 848 EVO barely starts and this is with me holding the starter for a few seconds. I am a Ducati noob so perhaps this is totally normal but I have a fear that my bike wont again if I stop for doughnuts, gas, a wee, etc.

Here is an interesting review on one lithium battery option from another forum:

https://www.ducati.org/forums/how-t...our-ducati-1x98-848-best-ones-buy-2017-a.html

#1 tboooe, Jan 3, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2020
  2. FFS.... :mad:

• Funny Funny x 5
    • Face Palm Face Palm x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Blue touch paper now lit :bucktooth: ^^^

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. Oh Dear... to try and keep this short, have a search through the threads but general safety consensus seems to be to fit one on a bike that has a Mosfet Reg/Rec, but not to do so on older charging systems like the 1198/1098/848. I also asked an auto-electrician and he said to me to avoid unless it has a digital reg/rec.

• Like Like x 1
    • Love You Love You x 1
  5. Go for Exact Start cables, they apparently give a better current flow to the starter @Exige will oblige :upyeah:

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Love You Love You x 1
  6. Oh sweet jesus step away from the keyboard pal !!!!

• Funny Funny x 3
  7. :eyes:

8. Not bad, nearly three whole days of the year gone and it's only just appeared.

• Funny Funny x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1