1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1098 Mosfet Regulator Installation

Discussion in '848 / 1098 / 1198' started by Robarano, Mar 10, 2019.

1. I've got round to fitting the Mosfet regulator to the 1098R today. As I was a complete novice as to doing this conversion, I've decided to post this, in case it's useful to others doing the same.

Time -
    • Approx 2 hours
    Parts -

IMG_7776.JPG
    • Mosfet regulator. I got this 2nd hand from a Ducati breaker for about £40. It's a part common with a load of bikes that Ducati make and fitted as std to the LiPo equipped Panigale R.
    • Triumph conversion lead. About £28 from eBay, but I believe it's quite a bit cheaper from a dealer.
    Screenshot 2019-03-10 at 20.34.08.png
    • Bikesport Developments RHS regulator conversion bracket, £100 (optional if you want to move the reg away from the exhaust). The original regulator is just above the exhaust and I imagine there's a lot of heat in the area. In fact, the heat shield on my bike has bubbled up as it's close to the 70mm system. This comes with extension leads and bolts / spacers.
    Screenshot 2019-03-10 at 20.39.44.png

So, here we go.........

Select your favourite 848, 1098, 1198.

Fairings and belly pan off.

IMG_7792.JPG

IMG_7793.JPG

Disconnect the battery negative cables.

Remove the ECU (2 bolts). I have read that people remove the battery box. I didn't need to.

IMG_7794.JPG

Remove the regulator located behind the ECU (2 bolts)

IMG_7796.JPG

IMG_7797.JPG

My 2 regulator electrical connectors showed no signs of heat damage, so I could proceed. If yours do, rectify them. (no pun intended)

IMG_7798.JPG