1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My 888 To 851/996 S4r Project Story By Murph

Discussion in '851 / 888' started by Murph, Apr 30, 2020.

1. 20190101_195333.jpg

This was my '93 triple 8 that I had been lusting after for nearly 15 years, ever since I saw my first 851, and then while on a year long motorcycle trip around the US and B.C. in Canada 10 years ago I was parked at a cafe and heard it first, then saw it, saw those three big number 8's on the side of the fairing, so f**king cool looking, and I wanted one.
    The year long trip actually turned into a 5 year RTW, but that's another story.
    I have a friend, Johan Keyser of Moto Motivo in South Carolina who one day called me up and said he has one, a minty 9k mile one that a customer left in for service. Ask him if he wants to sell it I asked. $10,500 I heard back from him the following day. It was cherry, 100% stock, 100% original, nothing aftermarket on it at all. Originally I wanted a '92 white frame, but the scarcity of 888's here in the US made me settle for the '93.
    That motor and clutch sound, like a tin can full of spanners being shaken around all the time. Wicked.
    Soon enough I had chalked up two or three more thousand miles on it, actually getting ready to fab up a suction cup type rear bag frame to go over the fragile tail piece to hold a top and side bag to do some longer trips on it.
    I was living in San Francisco at the time last year and had a friend whose husband John, a few months earlier in May, died in a one vehicle accident, only 54, while out riding his Duc. Experienced rider was John, so still to this day the circumstances of the accident are vague.