1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

959 Painting 1299 End Cans

Discussion in 'Panigale' started by Stewarty, Jan 13, 2021.

1. Hi,

I've just received a 1299 system to fit on my 959 but the end cans are looking a bit tatty and could do with a rub down and a spray of paint. Has anyone done this with decent results? I'm a complete novice when it comes to painting and prep so any help or guidance would be welcomed

Thanks
    Stewart

2. Just use heat resistant paint.

3. Cheers, I had figured out that much lol

• Funny Funny x 1
  4. Good quality heat resistant paint. The art of a good finish is in the prep.

it is easier to get a good finish out of a gun than it is a can. Light even coats.

If in doubt get it done professionally. Shouldn’t cost a lot.

5. If you want them silver and can get hold of it, I recommend Krylon, high heat alumium.
    Not easy to find but it's just such a good paint for heat, finish and toughness. I'm terrible with a rattle can but that stuff is magic.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Just done this and used a couple of high temp enamel cans from Halfords. Mine weren’t in too bad condition so just rubbed them down with scotchbrite. Iirc they were rated for 650°.

#6 bettes, Jan 15, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Just making sure you don't use dulux

• Like Like x 1
  8. I have a brand new 1299 system that you can have cheap? Never fitted.

9. I've got a full system bud but the cans had seen better days. Wish I knew about this a few weeks ago, I had waited months to get my hands on a system and been offered 2 in the last few weeks.

10. I've rubbed them down and got all the old paint off. I'm just waiting on the temperature getting up a bit in the garage before I give them a spray.

• Like Like x 2
  11. I would look into Cerakote on the cans. Finish is baked on and highly resistant to chemicals and abrasion.