1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

998 Pipes!

Discussion in '748 / 916 / 996 / 998' started by Wooly46, May 11, 2017.

1. Guys,
    I've just bought some Promotive 50mm cans with 45/50mm link pipe and was wondering if I just put them on will it fuel/run ok? Obviously in the near future I'll get it mapped etc, just wanted some info for short term or should I leave the std cans on until I'm ready to get it mapped etc?
    Thanks in advance for any info as I'm new to all this Ducati stuff!

2. There is a separate ecu for 50mm end cans on the 996R/998s. For that reason only, my impression is that if you don't change/remap the ecu, the bike is likely to run like a bag of nails. Andy

3. Forgot to say it's a std 998

4. id wait and get it all done together!! no point in faffing about with it, id get someone like louigi moto to do a pre dyno service as well like set the tps,balance throttle bodies and a new air filter, bike will feel brand new after that.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Only takes a short while to fit them although the strap bolts can be a fecking nightmare, fit them and try it on short run. If it doesn't work that well put the standard ones back on. If nothing else you will hear what your 998 really sounds like and you will get the remap done much quicker. Although I know one person who reverted his 996 back to standard because he was told it was too noisy "for the kids" There are hundreds of 916/748/99x bikes out there running noisier pipes with no adjustment on the standard eprom. Get it mapped and set up as suggested above it will make it drive better than most new bikes

• Like Like x 2
  6. Any recommendations for getting it set up? The bike is in at moto r being serviced at the moment, Richie did say he could get the Ecu flashed and he'd reset the tps and set it up but was wondering can it be done without being run on the Dyno?