1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quickshifter Vs Quick-shifting...

Discussion in 'Hypermotard' started by Keith_P, Oct 12, 2019.

Tags:
  1. I'm interested in the trend towards quickshifters. I've been quick-shifting (clutch-less changes) up the 'box and down for decades using old technology (right hand/brain/left foot). I have a degree in mechanical sympathy and I love the way all the gearboxes I've treated this way just work and don't complain.
    I was full-on hooning around Wiltshire on my new (to me) 939Hyper today and wouldn't dream of using the clutch on full-bore acceleration. Did the same on my '96 900SS, GSXR750 and so on... and never though that the 'boxes would be too delicate for this sort of (well-considered) treatment. Even popped in a few when I test-rode a dealer's new 950Hyper 'cos it just felt right.
    My conclusion is that (for me) an electronic cut-out quickshifter would only be of use to shave milliseconds off a shift when racing.

What do you reckon?

2. Up down shifter worth having imo. Like you, i used to shift up clutchless and sometimes down as well without electronics.
    But welcome to the 21st century!

• Like Like x 1
  3. I can only say that once you've had one on track you wouldn't want to not have one. I'm just trying to get used to a down blipper now but it doesn't seem natural on the road, I think it will make more sense on the track.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. Don’t we all do that?
    What we can’t do though is keep the throttle pinned open, unless I’ve been doing something wrong these last how many years!

• Agree Agree x 3
  5. Sure - we all do that (maybe not all?). Was just posing the question of whether a quickshifter is really necessary:thinkingface:. But hey, none of this is really necessary, just fun;)!

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. Necessary? No. Helpful? Yes.

• Agree Agree x 3