1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rukka - Never Again!

Discussion in 'Clothing, Gadgets & Equipment' started by The Bar Man, Nov 30, 2016.

1. I have been using a Rukka Armas jacket for about three years and it's a great motorcycle jacket. Unfortunately, at some stage during the summer I managed to lose the detachable neoprene collar. I suspect it either fell out of the top box or my wife threw it away without knowing what it was.

Anyway, the reason for the loss is irrelevant, it's gone. I spoke to Infinity at the NEC last week and they couldn't help but suggested I contact Tran Am, the UK distributor. Here is Tran Am's reply:

"Unfortunately Rukka cannot supply replacement collars or liners for their products. They do not produce any extra stock but just those that are sold with the complete jacket/trouser."

Tran Am further suggested that I could get a custom collar made by Hideout Leather, but in my view that isn't good enough. If a manufacturer wants to charge premium+ prices for their products they have a duty to service this type of problem.

It's akin to my dealer telling me that Ducati can't supply a replacement mirror and I'll just have to buy a new bike or get some third party to knock something up!

To put it bluntly I think it’s bulls**t. Rukka offer a very comprehensive warranty service and they couldn’t manage that without some level of replacement stock. I suspect the truth is that they don’t want to be bothered with low value sales transactions.

Is it just me, or do others think this is unacceptable customer service? I coughed up £1000 for the jacket, never mind the other £700 on the trousers, and I am being told I cannot buy an infrequently used detachable item that is both prone to getting lost and that can't cost more than about £30.