1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Satnav Time......

Discussion in 'Clothing, Gadgets & Equipment' started by Lizzyfan, Jan 16, 2022.

1. I'll be picking up my new Multistrada V2s on March 1st. I'd like to do some UK tours on it which I've never done before so it'll mean a new sat nav for me. I've always used TomTom in the past so will prob stick with them. I'm looking at the TomTom Rider 550 at the moment but it's coming up 4 years old. Does anyone know if TomTom will be releasing a new model soon? The Garmin Zumo XT has a strong following with the screen size & resolution being much better than the Rider 550. I see that TomTom recently released a new truck satnav with updated screen etc, so hopefully the bike version will be along soon. I'm going to continue using my old Iphone XR coupled with the quad-Loc system with the TomTom app for a while so I'm in no rush but I'd be annoyed if I bought a Rider 550 then the next week the new model came out !!

2. Garmin Zumo XT is brilliant, so much better and clearer than the old Garmin units. It's a good idea to mount it above the clocks, there are a few options to do this, much easier for navigation.

I'd also recommend using MRA (my Route App) for planning trips, it's about a million times more intuitive than the Garmin Basecamp software.
    https://www.myrouteapp.com/en/home

• Like Like x 1
  3. Comparing TomTom and Garmin is like the Apple OS vs Windows debate. Generally speaking you're either a fan of one or the other, no point in trying to convince the user of one to convert to the other.

Long time Garmin user myself. Out of curiosity I bought a used TomTom car unit just to try it out and compare, couldn't get on with it and flogged it on ebay. I'm sure a seasoned TomTom user would have a similarly frustrating experince with a Garmin.