1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V4 Suspension Adjustment

Discussion in 'Panigale' started by Heedful, Jul 15, 2018.

1. Morning all

On a base V4, can I adjust the softness of the ride myself?

On page 257 of the manual, I'm pretty much understanding it, where my hope is "just turning the harder softer screw on the canister" will make it easier to live with on these country roads of ours.

I'm unsure though as to whether all the adjustments need to happen in conjunction with each other (1-3), or whether I can just do the straight forward one.

I'm not a mechanic and haven't worked on a bike like this before, so wanted to check.

2. Base suspension is fully self adjustable for compression and rebound but make a note of the OE settings then make a small change and try before adjusting again. Might be a good idea to set static and dynamic sag for your weight first. Andy

#2 Android853sp, Jul 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  3. So I don't need to fiddle with the rings, I can just do the canister?

4. pay someone to sort it..

• Like Like x 1
  5. Not sure I quite understand your question. Are the “rings” you refer to the 2 castellated nuts part of the rear shock absorber on top of the rear spring ? If so, that is how you adjust the rear preload. Pages 255 to 258 in the owner’s handbook explains what you can adjust and how to adjust it. http://www.ducati.com/cms-web/upl/d...00.pdf?forceContentDispositionAttachment=true Andy

6. HI Andy.
    I think I have it sussed now - reading it a couple more times and not being up since 4am. :bucktooth: I only need to adjust compression (to soak up bumps) and not rebound, so to make it softer, a turn of a screwdriver on the canister in the direction of 'softer' will suffice (within range). I am not changing preload or rebound, so the other rings (1) and (3) can be left alone

• Like Like x 1