1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switching From Ninja 400 -> Panigale 959

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Luke Smith, Apr 26, 2021.

1. How's it going guys,

So I've been riding for just over 2 years on a A2 license here in the UK on a Kawasaki Ninja 400. I've just got my full license and am wanting a 959 but have a few questions first before diving into buying one, I would appreciate any feedback/advice!

Is it too big of a jump to go from a Ninja 400 to a 959?
    I'm a short rider (5'7), would i be comfortable on a bike like this?
    Curious what the general comfort is like on long rides, could you go touring on it and not break your back?
    What's a rough figure for annual servicing/maintenance like on this sort of bike?
    How many miles can the engine survive for without needing major work done (if the bike is well looked after)?
    Any general advice or specific need-to-knows before owning a Ducati like this?

Many thanks and nice to meet you all.

• Like Like x 1
  2. I'll try and answer some of your questions but other more knowledgeable folk will be along at some point!

In terms of it being too big a jump only you can say for sure but it will be a pretty big leap. If your careful and take your time it'll prob be fine but temptation can be a hard thing to overcome!
    You should be fine comfort wise as long as you can get your foot on the ground easily.
    Again general comfort is a personal thing. I suspect I'm quite a bit older than you and I can manage ok but 2hrs is about my limit. I wouldn't choose to tour on it but I'm sure some have. It doesn't like stop start 30mph limits and gets pretty hot!
    My engine hand grenaded itself after 1800 miles so I can't comment on longevity but it was replaced by Ducati and seems to have been a one off!

• Useful Useful x 1