1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tcip4 Maps For 900ss.... Anyone Had Experience?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by andrewinuk, Jun 27, 2018.

1. I've got my TCIP4 Ignition unit arriving today and been playing with the advance curve to match the Ducati Performance AL9000 2.4 and 3.0 curves to suit my high compression engine, but I've ZERO experience with this, just used their "Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88.ign" as a starting point and moved the parameters to suit based on the advance's below....

And as i have a dyno session on Monday and Donnington on Thursday, I was wondering if anyone has had experience with setting these up on a non standard engine.... My Dyno slot with Steve Jordan is unfortunately not long enough for him to do anything but swap between the maps i load up onto the unit.

Engine is a high compression 1000DS with 900 heads with a Denso LMZ92 flywheel. Carbs and inlets are standard, but airbox lid is opened and it has slip-ons with baffles in.

Any thoughts, words of wisdom or settings are much appreciated.

DP AL9000 Brochure
    ducati 900ss Ignition advance.jpg

Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88 (std map that comes pre-programmed)
    Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88.JPG

Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88+AL9000.2.4
    Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88+AL9000.2.4.JPG

Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88+AL9000.3.0
    Ducati_kokusan_bosch_v88+AL9000.3.0.JPG

2. Hi Andrew.

Right, first off, what coils are you running and what resistance are they?
    Are you running four individual coils or twin output coils?

Secondly, the ignitech is pretty much doing what those ducati performance cdi boxes were doing but a bit better.

You probably won't go far wrong with getting a tps as well if your carbs don't already have one on them.
    :)

3. Standard 900SS coils, but not sure of the resistance, so just two single coils as using single plug 900SS heads.