1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

749 To Buy Or Not To Buy This 749s

Discussion in '749 / 999' started by DonaldDucky, Apr 28, 2022.

1. HI everyone,

I’m looking at purchasing a 2003 749S, the bike in question has some issues.

I’ve had mostly Japs and BMWs over the last 30 years or so but always had an eye on 749/999s, even when they came out I thought the styling was fantastic, but I have no experience owning one.

I’d like to get some others opinions on how much the below issues would affect the price or potential costs involved in repairing.

1) Speedo goes blank or flicks through random numbers.

2) Odometer doesn’t seem to work and is stuck on 45K km (is this high mileage for a 2003 749? No idea what the actual mileage is.

Are speedos matched to an ECU can they be swapped out?

3) Neutral light is permanently on- Apparently the bike cut out when put in gear and current owners mechanic said it wasn’t the sidestand switch?? Current owner doesn’t know what was done to fix it other than some wiring bypass and Neutral light on permanently now..

4) Bike has a history of firing on 1 cylinder, fixed now but current owner doesn’t know what was wrong or what was done to fix it.

5) Clutch needs to be regularly bled, I don’t know why, worn out seals maybe?

6) Bike wouldn’t start several times when I had it yesterday, press starter and nothing happens. (like kill switch is on) then tried later and it jumped to life.

7) The seat seems to have delaminated. Is this common? My rear was hot when riding so not surprised.

They all do that!

Do they all get really hot seats?

Does the dry clutch always sound like that, Does the bag of spanners sound at any point indicate an issue.

Thanks All.

2. I dont think I,d take it for free tbh
    Decent examples pop up on DD from time to time.
    I,d wait for a clean one with s/h.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. walk away

• Agree Agree x 2