1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Uploading Action Camera Video To U Tube-whats The Best Format

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by CRYSTALJOHN, Dec 25, 2018.

1. I'm new to all this action camera thing, recently been flaffing about with my new 'Apeman camera' whilst riding my bike in India. I've made several f'up's including inadvertently formatting all the video of my 'Jungle rides' as I only had 2 micro s.d cards with me and was resorting to transferring the content of the s.d's cards onto a portable hard drive via a cyber cafe's PC at the end of the day. I had naively thought I would take a video, upload it to my ipad, modify it with 'imovie' and then upload to u tube in a few minutes. How wrong could I be?
    I took all my video in the resolution of: 1080FHD 1920 X 1080

I had the choice of : 720P 1280 x 720 60fps

720 1280 x 720 30fps

WVGA 848 X 480

The reasoning behind my choice being that the video would be better quality.

First question. What should I have taken them in, as I have uploaded a couple of 15 min videos to u tube but it's taken many hours. The format the 'Apeman camera' generated was .MOV. My micro sd card was 32GB.

I think I have now realized some of the shortcomings of my camera in that it doesn't deal with the transition from bright sunlight to shade very well. I suppose that's relative to the price of the camera- I paid £40.
    Would a Go pro camera handle the differing light conditions better?

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers, John.

2. I have a pair of the older Hero3 blacks and that was one thing that impressed me most, the way it handles dark to light. Cheaper cameras have less powerful CPUs and it shows when you get the dark light transition.
    I record video in 1080/30 or 60 and upload to youtube in 720/30, more than that means a huge file and huge upload times. I keep the higher res ones for my own viewing on the TV or computer.