1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What 250cc Bike For An 87 Year Old

Discussion in 'Other Bikes' started by CRYSTALJOHN, Sep 6, 2019.

1. I have a friend who has just decided to stop riding his Kawasaki SX1000 as he is finding it a bit heavy to move in and out of the garage, and a bit cumbersome at walking pace speed.

He's decided that he would like a lighter bike, something around 250cc ,and I would like to help him with choosing a replacement bike. I have no knowledge of whats available in that engine size.

Any ideas of what to consider welcome.

• Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. My advice would be to accompany him down to a multi franchise dealer to sit on a few bikes to test seat height/weight distribution,that's the first port of call.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. That's a great suggestion @drax dave I had no idea BMW made bikes like that.

Looks really good too. I used to have a KTM 390 Duke that looks similar. That was a light as a feather, only reason I didn't think that was suitable was it was too highly tuned and really needed to have it's neck wrung to get the best out of it.

At 159kg , much lighter than the Kwacker too!

Cheers.

4. Will he be able to ride the bike without feeling he has made a mistake when he wants the power to overtake?

Close to his wants as basic as you've described them?

KTM RC 390 147kg

https://www.ktm.com/en/supersport/rc-390/

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. That's a good suggestion @XH558 , thanks. I seldom read any of the motorcycle publications so don't keep up with whats available in that area of the market.

• Like Like x 1
  6. X7 with clip ons...
    [​IMG]

• Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1