1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zumo Xt Question

Discussion in 'Clothing, Gadgets & Equipment' started by Mac, Jul 27, 2020.

1. Calling all Zumo XT owners...

Is there a Garmin PC app that you can use to plan routes? I've not had a previous satnav so don't know Basecamp and there doesn't seem to be anything that comes with it (or is even mentioned in the instructions - they seem to want you to do it all on the GPS).

2. Nothing by Garmin other than Basecamp. I’m currently trying to get my head around MyRouteApp which is internet only and isn’t on your PC so you either need WiFi or a LAN. As a total novice I can feel my life’s blood ebbing away as I waste more and more of my (and other peoples’) time trying to make something work. Where basecamp is free, MyRouteApp is either free or subscription and as you can guess, the free software has very basic functionality. There are at least a couple of other applications I read about in passing but not sure how compatible they are with the Garmin. I have one more attempt to try when it stops raining and if that fails, mate, it is going in the bin as a useless piece of shit. Nothing should be this complicated in life. Andy

3. Thanks. Have you tried TYRE?

4. My understanding was that Tyre had been superseded by MyRouteApp but not according to this, https://www.myrouteapp.com/en/tyre. I know one or two people who say they still use Tyre but I was already being pushed down the MRA route (no pun intended). Andy

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Basecamp is woth sticking with IMHO. Like all software it is a PITA to get used to but once there the rewards out way the pain. With the right versions you can flip btween BC and Googl Earth

• Like Like x 1