1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

748R - Calling All Nerds

Discussion in 'Ducati General Discussion' started by COH555, Aug 3, 2013.

1. I meant enthusiasts, not nerds!

Members I am watching a 748R on E-Bay which is only 40 minutes from me.

From reading previous threads there do seem to be a few variations. I would be grateful if you enthusiasts could just have a quick look and see if you think it is a genuine R.

2000 DUCATI 748R YELLOW | eBay

Thanks for your time
    COH555

2. I am not an expert on "R's" It's is a very early "R" if it is genuine and it is the correct colour. I notice he hasn't photographed the plaque on the top handlebar clamp, I assume this year had it as later ones certainly did.

#2 Red998, Aug 3, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2013
  3. Thanks for taking the time to reply. I read that the really early ones didn't have the numbered plague.

Does anyone know what I can look for to confirm it's an R and not an imposter with R wheels, a mono seat & some carbon fibre? Any original paperwork for example?

Many thanks.

4. I am also no expert, but didn't they have a small 'r' after the 748 on the fairing?

5. If you can see the belt covers clearly then you should be able to see a small gap between the cover and belt cover mounting plates, R's use wider belt rollers than the rest of the 748 range and the belt covers have little sprues that make them stand further away from the belt cover mount

The airbox should also be a give away as the injectors on a R are much bigger, you could see those if the owner is willing to take the side cover off, the air box is also in two parts.

V5 should state the model and also he should have a 748R handbook. You could download the handbook in advance via a link on this site to help you read through the various aspects of the bike. It will help you spot some differences maybe.