1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

916 Another Cam Belt Thread

Discussion in '748 / 916 / 996 / 998' started by Akorenika, May 24, 2020.

1. Has anybody a old used OEM camb they are willing to let me have? Of course I'm happy to cover the postage cost.
    The reason I would like one is that I want to determine, for myself at least, once and for all what the difference is between OEM and the Renault Clio belt. I have been using Clio belts for 3 years with no problem. I had a conversation with Gates, who make both belts, and the engineer I spoke with wasn't at liberty to say if they are the same but he came as close to as one could reasonably expect. He did not discourage me to use the Clio belt. Anyway, my belts are due for a change and I will deconstruct one of them to inspect and test the fibres and I want to do the same with a OEM belt and I will report my findings here for all to make up their mind.

• Thanks Thanks x 2
  2. Sounds like a great bit of technical work, you could include all makes of belts in that ... we could really see all the claimed differences then.

3. Great idea.

Are you technically qualified in this field? Belt construction and use, engine loads and demands.

I would want to trust someone who knows what they are going, rather than those who are having a go, when it comes to my bikes wellbeing.

Surely you would test new belts, rather than worn out ones...

4. This has been done on a forum in the past, but can't remember which one.

5. It's not the first time I've come across this thing about Renault belts .

I was just about to post a new thread on some of my ideas about cam belts ( and yes , they might be crackpot )
    .... but I'll hold off for now and see how this thread goes .

The forum has been a little quiet recently regarding technical / mechanical issues .
    When it comes to all of the Ducati "witchcraft " , there quite a few wizards on here ,