1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

999 Axial Vs Radial - Forks And Brakes

Discussion in '749 / 999' started by Sev, Aug 2, 2018.

1. So..
    I'm a layman. My riding talent is not godly, and to be frank, the deliveroo rider can probably do me on the inside on his knackered moped.

I'm slowly amassing bits for the 999 build, and I'm slowly drifting into the realms of forkology.

Of course everything is radial now, but there's real bargains to be had with axial forks now.
    So my question really is this..

In the real world, you guys who have ridden both axial and radial, can you tell the difference?

The four pad calipers which were on the axial xx9's were a great set of calipers, and I wonder if the monoblock calipers are any better in reality.

I open the question to the parish for debate.... gentlepersons, if you please..

2. I'm in the middle of swapping out my gsxr forks to radials and brembo gp calipers, if you want a set of forks with 748 calipers let me know.

You won't notice the difference with street riding.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Other bike has radials, mega brakes. 999s has axials, mega brakes.

Get whatever you like the look of / is available / fits the budget and if it's in tip top condition with fresh fluids, set up for you and with good pads then you'll be fine I'm sure.

I've got standard OE MC, black Hel lines in the standard pattern, EBC HH pads and Putoline 10w fork oil in the standard 999s Ohlins and it's a lovely front end.

• Like Like x 1
  4. @cookster what forks are they? I was looking at the four piston calipers on the bay if I decided to go axial, and when they do come up the axial ohlins are very reasonable as well.

5. Mine are gsxr k2 forks with adapter plates for the 40mm brembos and k3 internals and carbon mud guard.

6. that might do nicely for the gsxr1100 - that needs its current pogosticks replaced!

• Like Like x 1