1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dash Cam Fitting In Company Car

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by fieldy, Dec 2, 2019.

1. Hi,
    So I work as a service engineer and can travel up to 800 miles a week and have a company car which I also use for private use. Now it’s been mentioned fitting dash cams due to the amount of fines that have concurred from engineers, this is the last 12-24 months, the company has gone through changes being taken over now smaller in size and a new HSE person . I have had 2 fines, no points given while in Holland the mph/kph mistake. The other engineers have had points and fines in the UK.
    The question is has anyone had similar where a camera been fitted for work?
    What about private use at weekend and evenings ?
    Or anyone owns a company and done this ?
    Nothing been confirmed yet but I do not want to logged at weekends.
    Thanks
    Mark

2. So how they will manage your private use. Most have some kind of data masking, whether it’s a dongle you press for each journey or they set simple parameters for working hours. Assuming it’s telemetry based of course.
    As its a company vehicle, they can claim tracking it and cam footage when on private if they can justify insurance costs and theft tracking. If you work from home, make sure they have something to cover the fact it tells anyone where you live, if they have access to see, and ask who cam see your data.

most of this is more revenge to tracking data, but mist cams for business tend to have them these days

3. Thanks, yes I am home base and it is the fact that at this moment I do not who will have access or when or how this will be used if fitted. It is bad enough that when I put my expenses in and more people than I would expect know what I had for lunch.

4. End of the day its their vehicle.

5. Change jobs ? I did when they introduced trackers.

• Like Like x 1