1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Diving Back In - Headfirst...

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by IMH, Sep 30, 2021.

1. Hey everyone, Noob here. Owned a SS over 10 years ago for a whole 3 weeks before it was stolen.

Had lots of other beasties in between, but i've finally given back in to the draw of something very red in my life ;)

Picking her up on Saturday. Excited is a bit of an understatment. Anyway hi!

My first obvious question though.... where's the best place to find nice, deep rumbling end cans? the new bike hasnt got, and needs some (sadly on a budget now, as damm - those values have gone up recently). Thanks,

• Like Like x 1
  2. Welcome to the forum.:upyeah:

• Like Like x 1
  3. The usual ebay or place a advert in the wanted section on the forum, welcome and photographs as and when please.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Welcome and enjoy

• Like Like x 1
  5. We have some cans, for monsters though, what you getting?

• Like Like x 1
  6. Welcome

• Like Like x 1
  7. No expert on cross fitment, but as its a 996 i'm guessing theyll be no good for me? So - speaking of which - where do i find out what i should/shoudnt be looking out for - before i go buy something completly useless! is there a reccomended page for all things fitment?

8. Which variant of 996, I think base stuff came with 45mm pipework, maybe 50mm you would need to check.

Given 996's are 20 years old now you're probably going to have to trawl ebay etc, I'm not sure any will be newly manufactured now, although I could be wrong.

Termi's being the obvious choice, but I had a set of promotive cans on my 996 as it was painted in GSE/INS colours and promotive were the exhaust supplier at the time.

You will also need better air filter, could go in the airbox, couple of options there (JHP used to sell the foam and metal style filters), and the obvious eprom upgrade for the map.

#8 Freak, Sep 30, 2021