1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Expected Chain Life?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by James English, Nov 29, 2018.

1. Hey guys

My first Ducati (2006 Monster 1000) and I have no idea on how long you'd expect a chain/sprockets to last. Bike is coming up to 18500 miles and I'm guessing it's the original chain (I didn't get the bike new).
    Visually it all looks fine but I'm no expert, what is the average life span and should you be just changing the chain or front/rear sprocket also?

I'd had the bike for 3000 miles, don't use as a commuter so it's only ridden in dry weather. Clean chain every 500 miles (yeah I know from photos def needs another clean)

IMG_1534.JPG

IMG_1535.JPG

IMG_1536.JPG

IMG_1537.JPG

#1 James English, Nov 29, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2018
  2. post a picture
    generally there is no time limit its down to how well its maintained what grief it gets and the quality of the chain..
    you tend to find the sprocket teeth hook or go to a point..
    At that mileage id fit a new chain and obviously sprockets

• Like Like x 1
  3. Thanks Andyb I've uploaded some photos to my original post. I don't use bike for commuting so it's only out in dry weather, not sure about original owner.

• Drama Queen Drama Queen x 1
  4. Doesn't look too bad. Needs a fekkin clean, obvs. Use your thumb and forefinger and try to pull the chain away from the rear sprocket. If it comes away a few mil and has play back and forth, change it. Even if you think it's seen better days, change it. Gives a good base line. And clean the fucker regularly too. :):upyeah:

• Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Looking at the pics the sprockets do not look worn... so would guess a previous owner already changed them.

Rotate the chain and look for sticky links or play in links and then as Mary said check play on rear sprocket..