1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1000 Newbie With Ms 1000ds Starting Problems

Discussion in 'Multistrada' started by finster, Dec 9, 2018.

1. Hi All,

I'm new to the forum and sorry but I'm starting off with a problem !

I've been riding an 03 Multistrada 1000DS for the past 18 months, having converted from years on a Guzzi. Love the bike, but even compared to an Italian Guzzi, it needs a lot of TLC.

I'm suffering from a problem that at first was intermitant and is now 'permanent'. The bike would start and run fine and then after a good run, wouldn't re-start unless it was cranked and cranked over. Then it would fire and run and idle perfectly. I thought it was the side stand switch as it would start whether the stand was up or down, so I suspected it was a switch gummed up with road dirt. I bridged the switch by joining the two green/green & white wires and isolating the black. Still no results, so that must have been a red herring.

Cranking it over with a spark plug removed and touching the engine, there is no spark. Fuel pump is OK, turning over and plugs are wet. One weird thing is that if you release the starter button, the starter motor continues to run unless you hit the kill switch, like the solenoid is jammed.

The previous owner had replaced the battery twice and fitted a new Electrex starter motor in the 6 months before I bought the bike. It had also had the starter relay low side wires repaired and the ignition pulse generator checked at the time the starter motor was replaced !

Can anyone give me an idea of where to start looking for the source of the problem.

Other than all this, the bike is really clean and tidy and well looked after with 17,000 on the clock

I read somewhere that the early MS 1000DS ecu software was problematic and needs reflashing with the later version ?

Thanks for any help.

Finster