1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

St4 - Views

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Conrad Canadine, Jul 7, 2020.

1. Hi

I am a newbie on this forum. I am after a sports tourer and really like the look of the ST4 - different to the usual BMW's, VFR's etc. however they are racking up some age and mileage now (ones I see are 25,000 miles plus) and I don't want an unreliable bike (it will be used for occasional commuting). Does anyone have any experience of engine and component life and a view on whether i need to be looking at something younger?

2. My ST4 is 18 years old with 12,000 on the clock (all my fault....) I have had zero engine issues with, arguably, poor life in terms of long term no use. It suffers from the usual Ducati relay failures (they all do but are cheap to replace or link out if it's the sidestand safety one). Being an '02 may have helped with the life I've had as there were reports of frame cracking on earlier models, modifications made around '01/02 to sort. I've had some minor plastic fairing cracking but nothing to worry about and I don't think it's uncommon with age.

Generally the bike has fared well with little extra TLC other than cleaning and normal maintenance. No fuel tank rust or petrol hose issues.

I bought the ST4 rather than ST4S due to a couple of minor reasons at the time; I didn't trust immobilisers to not go wrong (some have had issues, some haven't but I didn't want to have to fix it), reports said the ST4S was set up for the American market so suspension fiddling was required which I wasn't really keen on trying out with my soon to be wife on the back, and then coming from a M900 the ST4 power was more than enough for me without the extra grunt of the 996 motor (apart from that I thing the salesman probably had a target to shift the outgoing ST4's and gave a good deal).