1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Touring On My Multistrada Through France And Italy

Discussion in 'Touring' started by chrisjk, Mar 15, 2019.

1. I have frequently toured in Europe on other bikes but this year will be the first occasion using my Multi. I would like to use a telepeage tag, which I have never done before on a bike so I'd be interested to know where it can be located on the bike and be effective whilst not too vulnerable to theft. Grateful for advice from anyone who has used them on a bike.

Another new to me thing will possibly be the need to get the rear tyre on the Multi changed by some fitter unfamiliar with the bike. Having seen how carefully my dealer did it (I have tyre pressure sensors) and using the massive socket/breaker bar to undo the wheel, I am a bit doubtful that the average tyre bod would be properly equipped to do it. I can carry one of the lighter sockets I have seen mentioned a few times on this site but I don't fancy carrying a breaker bar. I'd be interested to hear of others' experiences in getting tyres changed in France/Italy.

2. Depending on how good your French/Italian is ask if you can do the socket part using their breaker bar/torque wrench along with your socket. They might be glad to absolve themselves of the responsibility.

I the UK I tend to remove my wheels at home and take them to the tyre fitter. With my previous bike (MV Turismo) despite my instructions and writing on both tyre and rim the tyre fitter used the wheel nut direction arrow as the indicator of wheel rotation (left-hand thread). He had to de-rim and remount the tyre.

Enjoy your trip, doing similar in June myself, France > Germany > Austria > Italy (Dolomites) and back.