1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Do You Wear Under Textile Trousers?

Discussion in 'Clothing, Gadgets & Equipment' started by dubcat, Jun 1, 2019.

1. What do you wear under your textile trousers in
    • mild weather (11-20c)
    • warm weather(21c and above)
    I know it's possibly a naive question - but I'm new to all this :)

2. Jeans. When it’s cold I wear a heavyweight pair of jeans and have a thermal lining in my textile trousers. When it’s hot I have a fairly thin pair of jeans that I wear under my textile trousers without the lining in.

Generally though when it’s in the 20s I will wear leathers and if it’s in the 30s Kevlar reinforced jeans.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Marino wool long John's, thin but add warmth when it's cold along with removable thermal lining. I have a small roll up stuff sac from hiking/climbing shop that holds the linings for jacket and trs when not in use, compresses them to save space. The long johns wick superbly so are also cool when it's hot and being wool they have some sort of magical antibacterial quality going for days of wear on tour without washing without getting at all smelly. Being thin they pack well and dry quickly too so if away for an extended period two pairs is good.

They're not cheap from the likes of Hallversons (self and girlfriend have one of their merino wool tops each at £80 a pop, superb mind you). Aldi regularly do their own Crane brand at something like £20, I maintain a stock af a few pairs from there. Last well but do get small holes eventually but have yet to chuck any out TBH as who cares, they still work well in that state.

Don't be tempted by any of Aldi's other offerings, usually compression/sports base layers, even ones that say they're for MC use. These tend to be nylon/synthetic and in my experience don't work at all and make me more sweaty.